Tag Archives: panels

Freeze Frame 12/09/16

_20161207_181243
From Island #13 by Jack Cole

Continue reading Freeze Frame 12/09/16

NYCC: Black Panther 50th Anniversary Panel

jungle-action-10-gil-kane
Gil Kane

On Friday at New York Comic Con, Marvel held a panel observing the 50th Anniversary of Black Panther. Created in 1966 by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby, Black Panther debuted in the pages of Fantastic Four #52. Lee and Kirby were at the height of their collaboration at this moment, having just wrapped a string of stories introducing iconic figures such as the Inhumans, Galactus and Silver Surfer. The issue prior (#51) told the classic tale “This Man . . . This Monster!” Given this high level of quality, it is hardly surprising that they would not miss a beat when premiering The Big Two’s first black superhero. Two years later, Roy Thomas added the Panther to the ranks of The Avengers just in time for T’Challa to share Earth’s Mightiest Heroes’ initial encounters with Ultron and The Vision.

Despite their canonical status, the NYCC panel was mostly silent on these earliest Black Panther stories. Instead, they cited the work of writer Don McGregor as the foundational Black Panther tales. In the early 70s, Marvel launched Jungle Action as a low-profile series reprinting old adventure stories from the 1950s. However, much had changed in America since the 50s and McGregor found much of these stories racially offensive. (A cursory glance at the initial covers suggests that these narratives revolved around a generic Tarzan type rescuing a fearful white woman from all sorts of rampaging jungle beasts). Eventually editorial grew tired of McGregor’s complaining and assigned him the task of writing new scripts for the series. As McGregor explained, “jungle books didn’t sell, so what did they have to lose? They could simply cancel the series and say ‘hey we tried.’” Then in the tradition of Frank Miller, Jim Starlin and other creators reviving moribund properties, McGregor refashioned Jungle Action into something iconic.

Continue reading NYCC: Black Panther 50th Anniversary Panel

Freeze Frame 6/10/2016

_20160609_085411
from The Fix #3 by Steve Lieber & Ryan Hill

Continue reading Freeze Frame 6/10/2016

Freeze Frame, 2-19-16

_20160217_234732
From I Hate Fairyland #5 by Skottie Young & Jean-Francois Beaulieu

Continue reading Freeze Frame, 2-19-16